terewres.blogg.se

Ez gig iv stuck
Ez gig iv stuck















The 60 GB drive was connected via external USB. But 60 GB hard drive was the original factory drive. The 100 GB drive was not a factory drive from Dell (laptop is Dell Inspiron E1705) so does not have MediaDirect on it.

#Ez gig iv stuck software

I used an older software package called EZ Gig II by Apricorn, which I believe is just a version of Acronis software. I was trying to image/clone 1 partition, out of 4, from a 100 GB drive to a smaller 60 GB drive. I think I had the exact same situation happen to me. I thinking it's a combo of Imaging,HPA and the way Dell sets up the partition. Normally when you image a hd,you're able to add the unallocated space to your main parition. Thus you harddrive is stuck at whatever the original size of the image. It's either being imaged over and then when you put that harddrive back into the computer,the hpa see the unallocated space an takes it.Įither that or somehow the firmware is getting rewritten on the drive? It has been said that HPA doesn't get transfer do to it being hidden. My theory is somehow when you image the original drive,the hpa gets imaged over. I also used acronis to image a 40 gig to a 100.ĭo you happen to have a dell laptop with the directmedia button on your lappy? I've notice after googling that people that have dells with this particular feature run into the same problem.

ez gig iv stuck ez gig iv stuck

Which is why the 100 gig hd shows as 40 gig.

ez gig iv stuck

It does however show that the drive is hiding 60 gigs of space in the HPA. I've tried HDAT2,but that doesn't work either. I've tried Mhdd,but that doesn't uncut the NHPA. I had this also happen as this other guy too















Ez gig iv stuck